2018 Jerlov Award: Dr. Annick Bricaud

The Oceanography Society is pleased to announce that Dr. Annick Bricaud has been selected as the 2018 recipient of The Nils Gunnar Jerlov Award recognizing her contributions to the advancement of our knowledge of the nature and consequences of light in the ocean. Dr. Bricaud is recognized internationally for her groundbreaking contributions to ocean optics, which cover experimental and theoretical studies on seawater optical properties, fieldwork-based bio-optical relationships, and algorithms for deriving biogeochemical products from satellite ocean color.She is a senior research scientist at the Laboratoire d’Océanographie de Villefranche (LOV), CNRS – Sorbonne Université, Villefranche-sur-Mer, France, which she joined in 1976. Her 75 papers received the outstanding number of 11,400 citations, and many opened new avenues of research. Annick mentored numerous students, in France and worldwide, and has a long record of contribution to community service. She is among the first female researchers in optical oceanography.

About the Award

Nils Gunnar Jerlov was an early leader in the area of ocean optics research. His name is recognized widely within the entire international oceanographic research community. Jerlov’s theoretical and experimental work on ocean optical and related processes helped form the foundation of modern ocean optical research. He proposed the concept of an optical ocean water mass classification and the Jerlov water types are familiar to many outside of the ocean optics community. His book, Marine Optics, published in 1976, remains widely referenced and is considered required reading for all students of ocean optics and ocean color remote sensing. The Oceanography Society (TOS) commemorates Dr. Jerlov and his many contributions to the study of light in the ocean with an international award, established in his name. For more information visit:


2016 – Dr. Curtis Mobley
2014 – George W. Kattawar
2012 – Kendall L. Carder
2010 – Charles S. Yentsch
2008 – Talbot Waterman
2006 – J. Ronald V. Zaneveld
2004 – Howard R. Gordon
2002 – Raymond C. Smith
2000 – André Morel